Delphi is situated on a unique spot on Mount Parnassos under the Fedriades Stones at height of 550 m. with an incredible view and excellent climate. The settlement of Delphi is built near the archeological site and 2,5km south-east to Amfissa town. And it has 2.481 inhabitants.
The visitor needs at least a day to explore the archeological site which is located at an amphitheatrical spot, at 200m height. Ancient Greeks believed that Delphi was the point where earth touched the divine, the navel of the earth.
The area attracts a great number of visitors every year. In Delphi you will find accommodation for all preferences, cafeterias, traditional taverns and restaurants at your services.
The Temple of Apollo. The visible ruins belong to the last temple, dated to the 4th century B.C., which was peripteral, in Doric order. It was erected exactly on the remains of an earlier temple, dated to the 6th century B.C. Inside was the “adyton”, the centre of the Delphic oracle and seat of Pythia.
The Treasury of the Athenians. Small building in Doric order, with two columns in antis, and rich relief decoration. It was built by the Athenians at the end of the 6th century B.C. in order to house their offerings to Apollo.
The Altar of the Chians. The large altar of the sanctuary, in front of the temple of Apollo, was paid for and erected by the people of Chios , in the 5th century B.C., according to an inscription cut on the cornice. The monument was made of black marble, except for the base and cornice which were of white marble, resulting in an impressive colour contrast.
The Stoa of the Athenians. The stoa, built in the Ionic order, has seven fluted columns, each made from a single stone. According to an inscription cut on the stylobate, it was erected by the Athenians, after 478 B.C., to house the trophies taken in their naval victories over the Persians.
The Theatre of the sanctuary. It was originally built in the 4th century B.C. but the ruins we see today date from the Roman Imperial period. The concave had 35 rows of stone benches; the foundations of the scene are preserved on the paved orchestra.
The Stadium was constructed in the 5th century B.C. and was remodelled in the 2nd century A.D. at the expense of Herodes Atticus. Then were added the stone seats and the arched monumental entrance.
The Castalia spring. The sacred spring of Delphi lies in the ravine of the Phaedriades. The preserved remains of two monumental fountains that received the water from the spring date to the Archaic period and the Roman era. The later one is cut in the rock and has niches cut high in the cliff, which probably held the offerings to the Nymph Castalia.
The Tholos. Circular building in Doric order, built in ca. 380 B.C. Its function remains unknown but it must have been an important building, judging from the multi-coloured stone, the fine workmanship and the high-standard relief decoration
The Polygonal wall. Retaining wall, built after the destruction of the old temple of Apollo in 548 B.C., to support the terrace on which the new temple was to be erected. A large number of inscriptions, mostly manumissions, are carved on the stones of the wall.
The Gymnasium was a complex of buildings used by the youths of Delphi for their education and practice. It was constructed in two levels: on the upper were a stoa and a free open space used for running practice, and on the lower was the palaestra, the pool and the baths (thermae).
It seems that
Sifnion treasure was very important, particularly for its sculpted decoration, which is exhibited in the Museum of Delphi (one of the richest of the world) along with the wonderful and the unique copper statue of Hiniohus, the Sphinx of Naxion and many other findings.
The new city of Delphi, which was transferred a kilometer western, after the excavations of 1892, presents contemporary tourist facilities and it is ready to host visitors of all preferences. Here you will find the
European Cultural Center of Delphi, which organizes activities of international level, the house of Agelos and Eva Sikelianos which has been transformed into the Museum of Delphian Festivals, and the branch of the Art School.
Chrisso belongs to the Municipality of Delphi and took its name from the ancient city of Krissa, which was built – according to Homer in the 14 th of 15 th century B.C. The ruins of the walls of the ancient Krissa are saved above the hill Stefani, southern to the today large village of Chrisso. There it seems that there were the Hippodrome of Delphi where the «Pythia» were taken place. Nowadays, Chrisso is a lovely large village, with houses surrounded of bright green gardens; two picturesque squares with age-old plane trees, traditional taverns and polite and hospitable inhabitants.
Prophet Ilias Monastery is situated northwestern to Chrisso, in a distance of 7 kilometers away and can also be accessed from Delphi. It is built at a fascinating location, in an altitude of 400m, and “sees” all the area of the huge olive grove of Amfissa, the Corinthian Gulf, Galaxidi and the mountains of Peloponnese. The Monastery became famous during the period of the Greek Revolution against the Turk domination in 1821, which was used as a base and shelter of the fighters of Eastern Sterea Ellada, until August of 1825, when the Turks destroyed it. In 1834 it was reconstructed in the same position. T
The Monastery was set on fire by the Italians in February of 1943 and was gradually reconstructed in 1961 and later. Today, the visitor can admire its nice woodcut icon screen, which shows scenes from the Old and the New Testament, work of a great artist from Epirus, and the valuable library, which has manuscripts documents and letters from the period of the Greek revolution.
Delphi Useful Telephone Numbers (Calling code for Greece 0030)
Delphi Agrotic Health Center
Delphi Archaelogical Museum
Delphi Police Station
Delphi National Library
Delphi Tourist Police